About VHA Recreation Therapy - Rehabilitation and Prosthetic Services
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Rehabilitation and Prosthetic Services

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

About VHA Recreation Therapy

Sailing

The Recreation Therapy Service Program, within the Office of Patient Care Services' Rehabilitation and Prosthetic Services, is responsible for:

  • Serving as the subject matter expert to the Under Secretary for Health and the Veterans Health Administration

  • Developing policies and procedures aimed at improving processes and quality of recreation therapy/creative arts therapy service provided to VA patients;

  •  Advocating for the field and providing guidance and oversight for field-based service recreation therapy/creative arts programs;

  •  Serving as the recreation therapy/creative arts therapy consultant on clinical, business and policy and procedures with other VA offices, services, and/or programs; and,

  •  Ensuring excellence in care, education, and research to improve Veterans’ health and well-being.


National Point of Contact

David W Otto, MME, MT-BC
National Director, Recreation Therapy Service
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20420
David.Otto2@va.gov
202-461-7354


Field Advisory Committee

Lilli Shine, MSA, CTRS  (CHAIR)
Chief, Recreation Therapy Service
Louis Stokes DVA Medical Center
10701 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
Lilli.Shine@va.gov
216-791-3800 ext. 45308

Rodney D. Jackson, CTRS
Supervisory Recreation Therapist
Central Arkansas VA Medical Center
Mental Health Service
2200 Fort Roots Dr. (116/NLR)
North Little Rock, AR 72114
Rodney.Jackson1@med.va.gov
501-257-3086

Jennifer Lilly, CTRS
Chief, Voluntary Service
Coatesville VA Medical Center
1400 Black Horse Hill Road Coatesville, PA 19320
Jennifer.Lilly2@va.gov
610-383-0272

Linda Zaiontz, CTRS, MBA/HCM, VHA-CM
Chief, Recreation Therapy Service (11K)
South Texas Veterans Health Care System
7400 Merton Minter Blvd San Antonio, TX 78229
Linda.Zaiontz@va.gov
210-617-5125

Amanda Steele, CTRS
Supervisor, Recreation Therapy Service (11K)
VA Palo Alto Health Care System
795 Willow Rd (11k)
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Amanda.Steele1@va.gov
Phone: (650) 493-5000 ext. 23140

Hope Kumme, MM, MT-BC, NMT
Board Certified Neurologic Music Therapist
Hunter Holmes McGuire VA Medical Center
1201 Broad Rock Boulevard
Richmond, Virginia 23249
Hope.Kumme@va.gov
804-675-5000 ext. 6100

Erin Mooney-Simkus, LCPC, ATR-BC, CYT
Creative Arts Therapist – Board Certified Art Therapist
Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital
5000 South 5th Avenue
Hines, IL 60141
Erin.Mooney-Simkus@va.gov
708-202-7812

Heather Brown, MS, MTRS, CTRS
Recreation Therapist
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Department of Veterans Affairs
VA Salt Lake Healthcare System
500 Foothill Blvd, (117)
Salt Lake City, UT 84148
Heather.Brown2@va.gov
801-582-1565 ext. 1559

National Recreation Therapy Service Field Advisory Board

 

Download a Spreadsheet of our Local Points of Contact